Covert Novelist

Home » Short Stories » Critical Error » Critical Error 59

Critical Error 59

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,857 other followers

Christina laughed, wincing in pain, “Oooh, mom, don’t make me laugh, please, it hurts!”

“I’ll be right back.”  Eilea left Paul talking to Brandon and went in search of the nurse.  On the way, she stopped and explained the situation to the others.

“We should be able to go up in a few minutes and see them.”

Paul joined her then, and whispered in her ear, “I won’t be gone long.  I want to talk to the officer at the scene and find out what they have if anything.”

“Why?”

“A reputable company like this examines their gear daily.  They definitely wouldn’t allow anyone to go up otherwise. They have too much to lose.”

“Paul, what are you saying?”

“No need for alarm, yet.  I’ll get back as soon as I can.”

“Mom, what was Paul saying?”  Andrew asked, and before Eilea could reply, continued with a thoughtful look on his face, “He doesn’t believe it was an accident, does he?”

“It’s possible.”

“Look, they’re taking Christina and Brandon upstairs now.” She called out to the nurse, excuse me, can we go with them?”  Eilea interrupted.

“I don’t see why not.”  The pleasant looking young nurse responded.  Christina and Brandon were wheeled into the elevator first, and the others jammed in tightly around them.  Not a word was spoken.  When they arrived at the second floor, the group waited at the desk while the nurses pushed the two patients into a room and within minutes, came back out.  The pretty young nurse with the dark hair and expressive brown eyes beckoned them, “You can go in now.”

“Thanks,” Eilea smiled her gratitude.

Andrew was the first to speak.  “You sure gave me a scare.  You alright?”

“I ache.  They gave me a shot in my good hip, and I don’t want to lay on either now.  I’m going to feel great once the drugs kick in,” Christina joked.

“I guess you won’t want to try this again hey Brandon?”

“I don’t think so, Cliff, but be my guest.”

“No thanks, I don’t think so.”  He looked at Brandon, raised his eyebrows, smiled and dropped his head.

“Mom, does this mean we’re leaving?”

“I don’t see you handling the trip just yet, do you?”

“No, that’s why I asked.”

“Listen, I think we should leave and let you rest for a while.  We’ll come back later.”

“Brandon, thank you for what you tried to do.”

“If only I could have held on longer, but between the surprise and trying to hold my harness together, there wasn’t much I could do.”

“I’m sorry that you were hurt at all.  It’s my fault.”

Astonished, he asked, “Why?”

“If I’d sent you home, none of this would have happened.”

“How can you say that, mom?   Accidents happen.”

“Unfortunately, Christina, there’ some doubt about that and Paul isn’t completely convinced it was an accident.”

“What? Why?”

Leave a Reply

