Covert Novelist

Home » Short Stories » Critical Error » Critical Error 42

Critical Error 42

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,863 other followers

 

“I noticed Andrew’s reaction when he saw us at the pool table.  Besides, I’m not sure that the other kid’s parents would think about it either.”

“I’m sure they would be as happy for me as I am.  As for Andrew, he’s going to have to accept that one day I will meet someone special.”

“I know, but we don’t have to push him too far, too fast.”

“I appreciate your thoughtfulness, thank you.”  She kissed him tenderly on the lips.  “Are you up for a cup of java?”

“You betcha.”

“I told the kids we were leaving around eight-thirty so I figured a light breakfast was in order.”

“Sure, I have some breakfast cereal kicking around.  Which are your favourites?”

“Corn pops and Fruit Loops.”

“Let me see,” he said, scouring the cupboard.  Grinning he added, “Well one out of two isn’t bad.”

“They can make do.  I have yogurt so I think I’ll have that with a piece of toast.”

“I’m going to go and wake the kids.  Bye the time we all shower, dress and eat, it’ll be late.”

“I’ll tackle the boys, while you wake the girls?”

“Deal.”

Eilea knocked on the door.  “Time to rise and shine, ladies.”

“Already?”

“Yes, already.”

“Ok, we’ll be out in a few minutes.”

“Don’t be long though because breakfast is being served during the next half hour only.”

“‘k.”

She knocked on Andrew’s door.  “Yep, I heard.”

“See you in a few.”

Back in the kitchen, she laid out the cutlery, bowls, cereal and started on the toast.  She could get used to this, she thought.  It was fun having a whole family again.  “Everybody’s awake at least,”  Paul informed her when he reappeared.

“I thought I’d start packing the ice box; that should eliminate some of the congestion.”

“Do you mind traveling with Adam and me in the car?  I didn’t think you’d want to take your truck along too.”

“Is there going to be enough room in that little beater of yours?”

“I believe so, but then you could always travel with the teens if you wish.”

“Thanks, I’ll pass. Might cramp their style, not to mention mine.”

“’Morning, Paul.”

“Hi, Andrew.  What you having for breakfast?”

“Corn pops, you’ve got corn pops?”

“I guess that answers that, hey?”

“Yep.”

Brandon and Cliff turned up next.  “Good morning guys.”

“The breakfast choices are over on the counter by the sink and there’s yogurt in the fridge if you prefer.”

Everyone helped themselves and they eventually ended up at the table together.  Andrew was the last to join them.

“About time you sleepy heads, you nearly missed out on breakfast.”  Eilea snatched the yogurt from the fridge and after adding cashews, raisins and a spoonful of icing sugar sat at the table.  Paul took out a bagel and added cream cheese, offering the girls some as well.

“Thanks, Paul, but I’ll have yogurt and toast,” Christina was quick to inform him since she hated cream cheese.

“Hey, I’ll take it, I love cream cheese,” Theresa replied.

“Help yourself.”

“Do you have someone to look after the horses when you’re away?”  Eilea asked suddenly.

“I called a friend yesterday and asked if he’d mind watching them for me.  He’s one of the best horseman your ever likely to meet.”

 

Leave a Reply

