Covert Novelist

Home » Short Stories » Critical Error » Critical Error 40

Critical Error 40

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,857 other followers

“What is the name of that other movie that we’ve watched at least a thousand times, oh, Inner Space.  I find it as funny as ever.”

“What about Weekend at Bernie’s?”

“That first one is priceless,”  Paul agreed.

“I didn’t like the second one as much, but it was still good.” Andrew continued.

“Well, I guess I’ll turn in, especially since we’re leaving early in the morning,” Eilea informed them both.

“Yeah I guess so,” Andrew decided.

“Good night everyone,” Paul nodded to Andrew and accompanied Eilea to the kitchen.  She rinsed her coffee cup and set it in the dishwasher.

“Are you sure about this, Paul?”

“About what?”

“About going with us to Long Beach.”

“Absolutely, wouldn’t have it any other way.”

“I suppose I could be forced to enjoy your company?” she responded with a wink.

“Really?”

“Yeah, really.”

“Well, we’ll have to see about that, now won’t we?”  He walked up to her and placed his arms around her.  Before long he would have her begging him not to stop.  “And, Paul,”

“What?”

“The kids will be back soon, I don’t want to get caught in the middle of something.”

“You should have thought of that before taunting me,” he replied with a leer.

“Paul . . .”

“Alright, I’ll be good, although you make it difficult!”

“Eilea went to check on Andrew.  At the knock on his door, he called, “Who’s there?”

“It’s me.”

Recognizing her voice, he unlocked the door, “Come in.  I thought you were going to bed.”

“I am, but I wanted to say goodnight first.”

“You really like this guy don’t you?”

“Yes, Andrew, I do.  He’s kind, considerate, funny, generous, handsome,  has lots of charisma and great character.  What’s not to like?”

“Do you think you’ll get hitched?”

“I couldn’t say, Andrew.  He’s a man I’d really like to get to know better.”

“Are you ok with this?”

“I guess I have to be.”

“No, I don’t think you do, Andrew, but you do need to show him the same respect and consideration you would afford me unless he does something that shows he doesn’t deserve it.  That’s all I ask.”

“I hope that you can open your heart to at least give him a chance.  He’s the first man in a long time that I’ve been attracted to.  I’d be really sad if you didn’t at least do that much.”

“I guess so.”

“Good, thank you.  Sleep well, ok?”

“I will.  Good night, mom.”

“Good night, Andrew.”  Stooping, she placed a kiss on his forehead and ruffled his hair, just like she did when he was little.  It brought a smile to his face.  “See you in the morning.”

She closed the door, feeling pleased.  It had gone pretty well she thought.  She couldn’t hope that he’d warm to the idea of her and another man right away.  After all, in his eyes, it was clear Paul was usurping his position as ‘man’ of the house.  He wasn’t of course, but she understood he felt that way.

She donned the only sexy gown she’d brought in case Paul decided to visit.  Nightly ablutions complete, she climbed into bed.

The light wasn’t out more than five minutes when a knock sounded at the door.

“Come in.”

2 Comments

  1. AprilEsutton says:

    Kids have it rough in these situations.

    Like

Leave a Reply

