Covert Novelist

Home » Short Stories » Critical Error » Critical Error 31

Critical Error 31

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,078 other followers

“It’s a 1280 square foot apartment, large as apartments go, facing the ocean with a pretty view of the Bay and part of town.  It’s a complete delight watching sunrises and sunsets over the Bay.  Harvest and full moons are equally exquisite.”

“Christina enjoys the larger of the two front-facing bedrooms and Andrew has the smaller one.  Mine is at the side of the building, but I don’t mind because it’s larger, has an ensuite, and is much cooler.”

“What’s the population of Port Hardy?”

“Five thousand, eight hundred including the First Nations.”

“That big.”

“We have two Ferries running in the summer, and one during the winter.  The Queen of the North runs to Prince Rupert every other day and the Queen of Chilliwack runs to Clemto, Namu, Shearwater, and Oceanfalls on opposite days.  During the winter, the run is combined, running once a week.”

“I’ve done the run to Clemto and beyond.  I was sitting in the Cafeteria observing the scenery out the window, and watching the sky, mountain, ocean, the ocean, mountains, sky as they whizzed past my line of vision. It’s a beautiful trip.”

“I’m not much of a sea-goer.  I took Gravol but was still pretty nauseated.  Strangely enough, as soon as night came, I was fine.  It’s also true that it’s one of the roughest crossings they’d ever encountered.  Imagine me, jumping three feet to the right, then to the left in order to get back to my seat.  It was rough.  I felt like a contender for a part on the Lucille Ball Show.”   She laughed at the memory.

“Really?  That’s too bad because I was going to suggest taking a run in a friend’s twenty-four-foot yacht.  It’s really comfortable, thought we’de try our hand at fishing.”

“We could give it a try I suppose.”

“Ok, boats are out.  We’ll find something else to entertain ourselves with.”

Paul drove along the beach until he spotted the group.  As soon as the kids caught sight of them, they waved, smiles a mile wide covering their faces. They drove the length of the beach and then on through the campground which was strategically situated along the end of the beach.  “It’s so heart-warming, isn’t it?  Children’s laughter I mean. There’s something uniquely special about it.”  Paul followed her gaze and watched some tiny tots playing at the water’s edge.

Paul had taken a back road that connected with the highway taking a shortcut through a gas station fee and supply shop and suddenly stopped at little cafe-come-store.  “I won’t be long.”

Placing a hand on his arm, she said, “Wait, let me buy the steaks, after all they’re mostly my family.”

“Stay put, it’s ok.” Eilea sighed heavily, feeling awkward.  He shouldn’t be doing so much she thought.

When he returned, she told him so.  “Look, Paul, I feel really uncomfortable about this, you’re doing so much.”

“Too much hey, well you can buy the wine for dinner, how’s that?”

“It’s the least I can do,” she agreed.

“Eilea,  relax, enjoy, let someone else do something for you,” he admonished.

“I’m just so used to doing everything and fending for myself,  it feels strange and a little awkward.”

“It’s time you started then.”

Leave a Reply

