Covert Novelist

Home » Short Stories » Critical Error » Critical Error 30

Critical Error 30

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,857 other followers

Paul was coming out of his bedroom as she closed her bedroom door.  “I think this is about where we were interrupted earlier.”  Taking her in his arms, he drew her close. “Any objections?”

“None that I can think of.”

He traced the side of her face with the back of his fingers then lifted her hair and buried his hand in the lovely auburn mane.  He kissed her tenderly and as he began exploring, with increasing passion.

Almost of their own volition, her arms wound themselves around his neck and pulled him even closer.  Time stood still as she became lost in the ecstasy of that first experimental kiss.  Paul wrapped his arms tighter around her.  Running his palms down the length of her back, his senses reeled.  Her lips were soft, supple and very desirable.

“I’ve been wanting to do that since I laid eyes on you,” he confided.

“Imagine that.”

“There’s more where that came from lady, so don’t get sassy or else.”

“Promises, promises.”

“Come on, let’s get out of here before I forget I am a gentleman and ravish that sexy body of yours.”

“You know of course there isn’t a response to that.”

“I know!”  His arms dropped, and taking her hand in his, he closed his hand around her long slender fingers.  “Come on, let’s go.”

“Do we have to?”

“Yes, we do.” Pulling her along with him, he opened the front door and locked it behind him.  “I told the kids we would meet them at the beach and bring a lunch.”

“You want to take a swimsuit along to sunbathe?”

“Not really.”

“Why not?”

“I hate getting hot and sticky.”

“I guess we’ll just have to teach you how enjoyable it can be.”

“Paul!” He laughed at her shocked expression.

“Now don’t get all prissy on me, because that was a very seductive woman I held in my arms back there.”

“Yeah, that was then.”

Paul unlocked the passenger door, and placing his hands on each side of her hips, lifted her inside. “Thanks.”

“Any excuse will do.”

“You’re incorrigible.”

“Don’t I know it!”

They drove down the street to the beach and stopped for a few minutes to watch the kids ride.  “Is it alright for the two of them to ride like that?”

“Yes, they’re big strong horses, it’s alright.  I’d say they’re having fun, wouldn’t you?

“Looking at the delighted expressions on their faces, I’d say they’re having a wonderful time.”

“Andrew seems to be enjoying himself, although I imagine the others are wishing he would disappear for a few.”

“Not on your life!” Eilea exclaimed, and grinned.

“Ah, the protective mother,” he smiled

“You bet.  We don’t want any more children in the apartment, it’s too small already.”

He laughed.  “Tell me about your place.”

Leave a Reply

