Covert Novelist

Home » Short Stories » Nathan » Nathan 149

Nathan 149

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,857 other followers

Jim was nowhere to be seen when they re-entered through the side door.  Odd!  They went in search of their parents and found them working on the puzzle.

“Good morning my lovelies, how are you?”

“Good. Jenna and I were dancing to some new music she’s put together, it is absolutely exquisite.”

“I heard a little of it earlier when I passed by but I didn’t want to disturb the creative process so I kept going, but it sounded heavenly.  Seems to me she’s got a winner there,”  Jake responded.

“Did you really like it dad?”

“Yeah, there’s something completely appealing about it, draws you in.  It sure did me.”

“You guys had breakfast yet?”

“No, just coffee, but my tummy is rumbling so I figured I’d have to do something about that.”

“How does home-made pancakes with true maple syrup sound along with a side of sausages and bacon?”

“I’m in.”  Jake rose from the table and said,” I’ll get started on the bacon.”

In the kitchen he asked about Nathan and whether Emma knew anything more than what Jim had explained.

“No, I don’t.”  She sighed heavily.  “Not quite sure what to make of that.”

“I’m sure Nathan’s got a lot of irons in the fire and he’s busy with that.  He’ll contact you soon as he can.”

“Yeah, I look forward to it.”

Jessop was displeased.  His efforts had worked but not as well as he’d expected.  He stomped around the weight room.  He’d hoped to divide and conquer and get his hands on the Banks family, Emma in particular that despicable little… he wasn’t sure what term to use.  Troublemaker too tame, since she was beautiful, well bitch!  She’d screwed up his plans and his life.  He’d have to come up with something equally compelling to make her pay.

Nathan’s unlimited resources were making this far more difficult to accomplish than he’d anticipated.  Time to call in the heavy hitters.  It would be a one-time payoff, more than he’d bargained on, but it would work.  It had to.

1 Comment

  1. Sheryl says:

    Yikes I wonder what his heavy hit will be.

    Like

Leave a Reply

