Covert Novelist

Home » Short Stories » Nathan » Nathan 135

Nathan 135

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,857 other followers

Jim and Jenna were excitedly mid-grope when Jim stopped.  “Jenna, were you telling us the truth?”

“Why do you ask?”

“It didn’t feel right.  I need to know, Jenna.”

Jenna sighed.  “Yes, we were going to the little coffee bar, but we followed you first.”

Shocked, he asked, “Why?”

“We wanted to know what you were up to.  So we followed you and sat there for an hour before we finally left.”

“Jenna, do you know how seriously dangerous that was?  These guys play for keeps and you have no training, you and the others could have been seriously injured!  As it is, you were so damn lucky!”

“It didn’t though.  We got out of there.”

“The better question is why you couldn’t share your plans with us, with me.”

“I might not be in your league, but I understand what you do, the risks you take, the jeopardy you place yourself in every time you go out.  I wanted to know what the rush was, the feelings, the…”

“You are right.  There is a rush, the excitement and energy have to be contained, you have to be thorough, logical, methodical.  Excellent planning for any probability a must.  You being out there, unprotected, not knowing how to act or react puts you in immense danger!”

Taking her in his arms he continued, “Please, Jenna, don’t ever do that again.  If you want to know the plan, I’ll include you, but you have to promise me you won’t involve yourself again.  Or I’ll have a talk with Nathan and Emma, neither will enjoy.”

“It had nothing to do with either of them.  It was my decision to go.  I wanted to see what it was all about.  And if you ask me, it was pretty dang boring.  Sitting around in the dark waiting for something to happen.”

Jim laughed at that.  “A lot of my work involves just that.  The occasional scuttle can bring dire consequences, so we avoid that at all costs.”

“I’ll give you some training, so you can protect yourself if that will dissuade  your desire for stakeouts.”

“Oooh, hand to hand, now I like the sound of that!  Care to show me some now?”  She pushed Jim onto the bed.

2 Comments

  1. Sheryl says:

    Ohh fun conversation. Nicely done.

    Like

Leave a Reply

